Chakra Balance For Beginners
Meditation & Spirituality

Chakra Balance For Beginners


15 September 2016


You've probably heard of Chakras before, however you may not know what they are exactly. Chakras are wheels of energy which we have within our bodies that function as power stations of sorts. Read on to find out more.

Related Articles

There are seven main chakras in one’s body which are aligned vertically in the centre, and these need to be ‘charged’. Basically it's kind of like having batteries that the cosmic energy of the Universe can help charge to help boost your health and wellbeing. Each chakra serves a different purpose and releases specific energy flows. It is believed that when your chakras are blocked, you feel lethargic and can even fall sick.

Here are the seven main chakras and how you, as a beginner, can find balance for each one.

The Crown Chakra

Starting from the top, the crown chakra is (yes, you guessed it) at the crown of your head. This chakra is associated with thoughts, inspiration, positivity and happiness. There are a few ways to achieve balance for this chakra. The easiest would be to practice affirmation and positive thoughts, which can easily be achieved through a mantra. Repeating statements such as "I am enough" for example, can unleash positive thoughts and in turn help you. Another way is by stimulating your creativity to find inspiration. Paint, draw, listen to or play some music; anything that will help relax and get you in tune with your creative side.

The Third Eye Chakra

Otherwise known as the brow chakra, it reflects being able to have inner vision. This chakra is associated with wisdom, perception and a sense of inner understanding of one’s self. Silent meditation and visualisation help with balancing this chakra. Ensure you are in a peaceful and quiet surrounding when you meditate as it helps still the mind.

The Throat Chakra

This chakra is for speech, communication and self expression. When it comes to communication, it is not only knowing how and when to speak but also about being good at listening and knowing signs. The best way to balance this chakra is to be mindful when you speak. It's definitely easier said than done, but being conscious of what is being said and how you treat others help to better yourself.

The Heart Chakra

Located at the centre and quite rightfully so, this chakra focuses on love (in all forms including self love) and compassion. Where feelings are concerned, it is a constant struggle trying to control them but here's the thing, you should be able to let yourself feel what you feel and with that, be able to understand and accept these emotions. By holding it back, you clog up your chakra which leads to long term problems. Writing down your feelings, talking about it, or infusing it with your daily chants helps.

The Solar Plexus Chakra

Known as your core chakra, this is one that is very much focused on as it's your energy channel. Having complete control of your emotions and thoughts is something that takes a lot to accomplish. Give yourself a break and don't be too hard on yourself when things don't go your way. You can make a list of what you'd like to accomplish and slowly work your way through it, making it a point to not push yourself too hard.

The Sacral Chakra

The chakra for pleasure, creativity and desire. Besides yoga postures that help with unblocking and balancing this chakra, dancing is encouraged too. Let yourself loose and lose yourself in the music. All the energy spent and released is good energy that in turn helps to balance the chakra.

The Root Chakra

Being the closest chakra to the ground, this chakra focuses on grounding (literally) and physical survival. Similar to the sacral chakra, dancing and exercise is key to keep this chakra balanced. While meditating, take into consideration all of your senses as this helps with keeping your chakras aligned and balanced.